Databases: A

All |

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W
Database Name Description
Academic Lexis-Nexis (now Nexis Uni)

Now called Nexis Uni, this database includes more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.  Includes court decisions (including historical cases dating back to the 1880s), full text law reviews, thousands of full text news sources in English and foreign languages, and current data on 13 million companies.

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies
Content Type: news, primary sources, scholarly articles
Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary database that indexes journals from a wide range of subject areas, including literature, history, ethnic studies, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and medical sciences. Includes many fulltext articles.

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies.
Content Type: scholarly articles
AccessMedicine
New

AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. 

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies.
Content Type: ebooks
AccessUN

Index of United Nations documents, records, reports and resolutions. Includes some fulltext documents.

Dates of coverage: 1956 - Present
Content Type: primary sources
Acland's video atlas of human anatomy
New

Acland's (streaming) Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is web-based product that uses fresh, unembalmed specimens, retaining the color, texture, and mobility of the living human body in 3D. A concise synchronized narration runs throughout the program. As each new structure is shown, its name appears on the screen. Footage has been segmented into intervals no longer than 10 minutes and the streaming rate is capped at 250kbs. Features include section exams (free login account), a glossary, and an A-Z index.

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies.
Content Type: films
ACM Digital Library

Citations and full text from Association for Computing Machinery journals as well as newsletter articles and conference proceedings.  

Dates of coverage: 1960 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
ACS Publications

Provides full text access to over 30 magazines and peer-reviewed journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Dates of coverage: 1879 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
African American Experience

Fulltext collection of materials covering African American history and culture. Topics covered include music, folklore, biography, education, politics and civil rights. The collection includes primary sources and encyclopedias.

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies.
Content Type: encyclopedia, primary sources
Agricola

Available through the National Agriculture Library, this catalog indexes over 3.5 million items covering all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Includes records of books, serials, audiovisual, and other materials.

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
Agricola (Ebsco)

Index of over 3.5 million items covering all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Includes records of books, serials, audiovisual, and other materials. 

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database

Index of environmental sciences and agricultural literature, including content from AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, and EIS. This index covers research material from numerous sources including scholarly journals, reports, proceedings, government publications and trade and industry journals.

Dates of coverage: 1960 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
Alternative Press Index

Index to articles from nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, magazines, and newspapers. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Content Type: news, scholarly articles
America: History and Life

Index to articles on all topics of history in the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage includes all key English-language historical journals as well as selected state, local, and international historical journals. 

Dates of coverage: 1954 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
American Indian Experience

Fulltext collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. The collection includes primary sources and encyclopedias and cover Pre-contact to the present day.

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies
Content Type: encyclopedia, primary sources
American Indian Histories and Cultures

A wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, photographs and newspapers. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

Dates of coverage: pre-settlement to mid-20th Century
Content Type: primary sources
American Mathematical Society Journals

Collection of journals published by the American Mathematical Society. 

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies
Content Type: scholarly articles
American National Biography

Database of over 17,000 fulltext biographies of people who have shaped the history and development of the United States.

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies
Content Type: encyclopedia
American Society for Microbiology

Index of 11 journals from the American Society of Microbiology. Covers topics from molecular and cellular biology to biomedical research and technology. Full text available from 1995 to the present. 

Dates of coverage: 1992 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
American State Papers (1789-1838)

Collection of U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.

Dates of coverage: 1789 - 1838
Content Type: primary sources
American West Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection

Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Graff Collection about the American West, including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, and outlaws, and the growth of urban centres and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.  Sources are from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago.

Dates of coverage: coverage varies
Content Type: primary sources
Annual Reviews

Fulltext access to 29 Annual Reviews journals. Topics include biomedical, physical and social sciences, such as genetics, sociology, biochemistry and computer science. 

Dates of coverage: 1984 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
Anthropological Literature

Index of articles and essays on archaeology, biological and physical anthropology, cultural and social anthropology, religious studies, and linguistics. Includes works published in English and other European languages.

Dates of coverage: Late 19th Century - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
AnthroSource - Wiley Interscience

Thirty journals from American Anthropological Association journals available fulltext via Wiley. 

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies
Content Type: scholarly articles
ARIBIB

Bibliography of information related to astronomy.

Dates of coverage: 1880 - 2000
Content Type: scholarly articles
Art Index

Index of periodicals, art dissertations, and art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. Includes fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Dates of coverage: 1984 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
ArticleFirst

Index to articles from more than 15,000 journals from a wide variety of disciplines.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (ISI)

Part of Web of Science, this is a citation index to 1,300 leading arts and humanities journals. Coverage includes selected articles from social science and science journals.  

Dates of coverage: 1997 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
ASM Handbooks Online

Collection of twenty-eight ASM Handbook volumes, several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions.

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies
Content Type: ebooks, encyclopedia
ASTIS Bibliography

Index of research and publications related to Northern Canada, including geology, biology, engineering and technology, natural resources, politics, economic and social conditions, archaeology, history, art and literature.

Dates of coverage: 1978 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

A collection of standards and technical engineering information covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Dates of coverage: Coverage varies
Content Type: data, ebooks, encyclopedia
Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals

Index of journals related to architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

Dates of coverage: 1930 - present
Content Type: scholarly articles